Oregon’s Distracted Driving Law Goes into Effect October 1
As of October 1, 2017 any use of mobile devices will be prohibited while driving in Oregon. Like the law in Washington, which went into effect this summer, the new Oregon law prohibits drivers from holding or touching their mobile devices or using any function of the phone while driving or sitting in traffic. Here’s what you need to know.
- Drivers are prohibited from holding their device or touching it for more than a single touch or swipe to activate, deactivate, or initiate a function on the device.
- The law applies to all mobile devices including cell phones, tablets, laptops, and GPS devices.
- The law does exempt use of an electronic device to contact emergency services as long as no one else is in the car who can make the call.
- Drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited from using any mobile device, even on a hands-free setting.
- A first offense may bring a fine as high as $260 or $435 if it results in a collision. A second offense also results in a $435 fine.